Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

As it is known to university students, there are various ways to examine the performance when it comes to course examinations. Some professors prefer applying group projects, especially for the courses with relatively large number of students. However, problems are raised about whether the members of the group should be graded equally. In my point of view, it is more appropriate to grade differently on account of fairness and incentives.

Admittedly, there are many benefits to rate equally for each group member for both teachers and students. For those lecturers with heavy workload, rating each student carefully is a time-consuming process. Therefore, by just reviewing the results of the group projects and grade equally to the group member, the lecturers can save time and concentrate more on the quality of the group works. On the other hand, since students in one group are binded together, they can utilize the benefit of teamwork and it is easier for them to do a good job than just working on one's own. However, while concerning the disadvantages, they outweight the benefits for the reasons as bellow.

First, grading equally lacks accuracy and thus is an unfair way. Since the contributions made for the group works varies from group members and can be easily visualized, ignoring the difference leads to fairless grades. Taking my personal experience as an example, last semester I joined a group with three other students, writing a marketing report as the examination of the marketing course. I, as the leader, undertook the majority of the report, from idea promoting to paragraph writing, whereas other group member just completed some auxiliary work such as making the slides, searching some datas or adjusting the format. Finally, we are equally graded. Although the grade is high, it can hardly reflect my effort comparing to others' laziness. In conclusion, giving the same grades will probably deprive those who contribute more in the group and unfairly support the freeriders.

Additionally, equal grades destroy the proper incentives for students. It is common sense that all the excellent achievements in variou fields are encouraged by proper incentives, so as in education. By grading same grades, teachers are simply talking to students that they can get high grades even if they did not work hard, as long as they can work with the diligent guys, which reduce the quality of academic training for students in the long run. Analoging with planned economy and market economy, because of the lack of incentives, people in society with planned economy do not manage to produce more, while people in society with market economy try best to produce more and thus make more profit. Without proper incentives for working hard in the exam, it will be a concerning damage for the development of higher education.

To summarize, I firmly oppose to grade each member in a group project equally in university. Although it may have some advantages, yet the disadvantages because of unfairness and lack of incentives outweigh the benefits.