Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

During academic life, people encounter many projects that should be done in a group manner. There is a debate over the grading policy of group projects. While many argue that all members of a group should receive the same grade, some individuals, including me, think that this is a wrong idea. I believe that giving the same score to all participants cause two problems, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, knowing that he is not the only one responsible for a task, one may not put all of his effort on the job. It is highly probable that some members of a group do not try for a group project as hard as they would do for solitary ones. These people know that if they do not discharge their duties, other people in the group who are more responsible will work more to compensate for that. One way to prevent such attitude is to score individuals based on their contribution to the project. In this way, teachers foster the students to take their tasks seriously.

Secondly, people contribution to a project is almost never equal, which means it would not be fair to give everyone the same mark. In most groups some people have more impact on the project than others. Thus, giving them the same score is unfair and may results to losing motivation for the better students. I think that one way to prevent such problem is by considering different factors for grading. For example a teacher can calculate the score of each students based on their contribution to the work and the results of the whole team. This way the teacher is able to contemplate both solitary and group activity of individuals.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that people in groups should not be given the same mark. This is because some lazy and ill-will students may not try sufficiently believing others will carry their tasks, and it is unfair to give the stronger students, who worked hard for the project, the same grade as the weaker ones.