Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

Students are building blocks of every society and have a crucial role in developing communities; as a result, policymakers do their best to provide a well-rounded education for them. It is obvious that group work projects are an integral part of education; however, how to give group work project participants grades is controversial. Although many people believe that they all should receive the same mark, I have this notion that teachers should not give the same grade to all members of the group. I will discuss my compelling reasons in the following paragraphs.

First off, it is unfair as all members do not work the same and equally. In every group work project, there are some members who try harder than others and are enthusiastic about their studies. On the other hand, some students would not do anything since they know that if they do not work, others have to do their tasks as the entire project will not finish. Once, I had an arduous group project with a short deadline. One of my teammates was irresponsible, and she did not take things seriously. I had no choice, so I covered her since my final grade depended on her and that project. Ultimately, we got the same mark, and nobody cared about how responsible I was. I became overwhelmed, but could not do anything.

Another noteworthy reason is that students will become reluctant to try hard. Everybody wishes for fruitful results and huge achievements after working hard. The harder they try; the better grades they expect. Therefore, when they do not receive this appreciation, they become hopeless. Unfortunately, grades are significant avenues for teachers to show their appreciation to the students. Take my last example, for instance, had I known we would receive the exact marks, I would not have been trying so hard. I promised myself not to attempt hard in group work projects, and just let them go. For other projects, I did not do well; but, it was not that important because we all received the same marks, and there were not any competitions. I did not see any reasons to study or try hard.

In a nutshell, I believe that teachers should consider every attempt of each student in the group work projects; hence, they can give them various scores. Not only do students become more motivated to study, but also the grades will be fair enough to compare them easily.