One of the threats to endangered sea turtle species is the use of nets by commercial shrimp-fishing boats. When turtles get accidentally caught in the nets, they cannot rise to the surface of the ocean to breathe, and they die. Some people suggest that this problem can be solved through an invention called a turtle excluder device (TED) that is incorporated into the nets. A TED provides a passage through which the turtles can escape. However, TEDs have been criticized for several reasons. First, some shrimpers (shrimp fishers) argue that turtles get trapped only rarely: it is estimated that on average, one shrimp boat accidentally catches about one turtle every month. On the other hand, using TEDs costs the shrimpers some of their catch. Every time the shrimpers cast the nets, a certain percentage of shrimp manage to escape through the turtle passages. The shrimpers complain that the cost of losing shrimp on a daily basis is too high in comparison with the small chance of saving one turtle. Second, there are alternative methods of protecting sea turtles that may be more effective than TEDs. One method that can be used is shortening the time limit that shrimp boats are allowed to keep their nets underwater. When the time limit is reached, the nets have to be pulled up to the surface, allowing any turtles caught in the net to get air and also giving shrimpers the opportunity to release the turtles from the nets. Third, TEDs are not effective for larger species of endangered sea turtles. Some species like loggerhead and leatherback turtles can grow to be quite large and cannot fit through the escape passage that standard TEDs provide. Such turtles cannot escape from the nets even if the nets are equipped with TEDs.

Summarize the points made in the lecture, being sure to explain how they respond to the specific points made in the reading passage.

The passage talks about a solution named Turtle Escape Devices in order to save endangered turtles which are accidentally trapped in shrimper and die without enough air. The writer criticized this kind of method in three aspects. But the speaker reckons that TEDs are still and effective way to protect turtles and rebuts the writer’s ideas. First, the author proposes that it is rare for turtles to be caught by a shrimper. However, the lecturer pointed out that there are thousands of shrimpers wandering on the sea. If one shrimper killed one turtle in one year, there can be thousands of turtles die in a year. In addition, turtles have already been endangered animals and their population is small now. So the accident catch by shrimpers can still cause serious problem on them. Second, the passage says shrimpers can shorten the time to keep the turtle in traps alive. The speaker rebuts that this idea is just in theory, because it will be difficult for the government to supervise all those shrimper ships which are dispersedly located on the vast sea. So the second approach put forward by the writer is proved hard to enforce. Third, the author demonstrates that current TEDs are too small for some large turtle species to escape. The speaker retorts this notion and proposes that it is easy for us to modify the design of TEDs. Larger TEDs can be used in areas where big turtles live. Therefore, the writer’s last idea is proved unconvincing.