In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets. Which way do you think is more effective?

As we all know, the priority of a country or a region is to develop its economy. With the gradually increasing income, the tourist industry is considered the most profitable and friendly environmental method to earn money. When coming with the improvement of tourist, some governments may choose to invest in repairing old things in the country. In my perspective, however, improving safety by hiring more police may be more effective.

First of all, safety can influence people when they choose a destination. Thanks to the advanced technology, we can access the latest information about other countries or regions. People tend to avoid dangerous places where do not have good social security when they want to enjoy the holiday. Germany is a classic example. According to the China Daily, the number of Chinese tourists travelling to Germany decline after the refugee trend by 10 percent. The majority will guarantee their safety at first. Thus, no good social condition, no good development of tourist.

In the second place, there are increasing needs to maintain social security when a place develops the tourist industry. Social safety, which is one of the services provided by the government, play an important role in tourists’ feelings. When people come to a foreign place, they really need help from the police when they encounter some incidents. They will never have comfortable and enjoyable experience if they cannot find the policeman in time, which might make a really bad impression about the place. The tourists will not come back or even post some complains online. In that case, the tourist of this place cannot go a long way.

In addition, it is unnecessary to repair old buildings and streets. These historic things are more attractive when they keep their original appearance without any repair. In most case, people are more likely to add some features which they think are welcomed by modern tourists. However, most of them turn to be useless. People love the one hundred percent ancient things which they can learn from some historical information. Some restoration and improvement of old buildings and streets are actually damaging them. That is to say, the original scenes of a country or region is attractive enough.

In conclusion, the government can attract more tourists by improving social safety. It is worthwhile to put money in hiring more police rather than repairing old stuff. Only by doing this, the tourist industry will develop in a longer run.