In order to maintain a relation, it is better to spend only little time with people we care to reduce the chance of conflicts orit is better to spend as much time as possible with them?

Human relationship has always been one of the most important topics in our life. Regarding the best way to maintain a relationship with people we care about, a lot of people hold that we should spend as much time as possible with them. However, in my opinion, it is better to avoid spending excessively long time with people we love. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, spending less time with people we care about helps keep the relationship fresh. We will lose interest in doing something gradually if we do it too frequently. For example, some people like eating ice creams, but if they eat every day, soon ice creams will appear disgusting to them. This is especially true when it comes to lover relationship. A lot of couples have the so-called “seven-year itch” because they have stayed with each other for too long and go so used to each other. If they reduce the time spent together, and change the way they live occasionally, a long-term marriage will become like first love and they will never feel bored again.

In addition, we can better respect each other’s privacy if we reduce the time we spent together. It is in the nature of people to peek into other’s lives. Nowadays the situation becomes worse due to the invention of social media. However, deer at our heart we all crave privacy, that is free time alone, undisturbed by others. My friend Jack once had a girlfriend. He loved the girl so much that he used every time chance to be with her, afraid that she might fall in love with someone else. However, eventually the girl couldn’t tolerate him anymore and broke up with Jack. Had he left more room for the girl and reduced the time they spent together, it wouldn’t have got so bad and they could continue the relationship.

Admittedly, sometimes more time we spent with people we love will improve the relationship. For instance, a lot of young people seldom return home to visit their parents when they grow up. Even if they can express their care through buying gifts, they will not replace the time spent with them. There is a famous song in China called “often go home to visit your parents”, which bet exemplifies our parents’ hope that we spend more time with them. However, this is only true when it applies to people with whom we have been separated from for a long time. When it comes to regular relationship such as lovers or friends, based on the afore-mentioned analysis, we’d better not spend excessively long time with them.

To sum up, the better way to maintain a relationship is to reduce the time spent with people we care about because we can keep the relationship fresh and enjoy the privacy rather than spend as much as time with them.