In the past people ate food that was better for their health than they do today. 2

It is an undeniable fact that the quality of the food we eat plays a crucial role in our lives. Eating healthy food is a must for being healthy and as a result having a favorable life. There are many people who believe that in the past, what people consumed as food was healthier than what we eat these days. On the other hand, I believe that today, people eat healthier food than before. I feel this way mainly because with the advances in science, detecting and preventing diseases from infected food has become much easier. Moreover, technology of food preservation has been progressing and spreading increasingly. I will attempt to address the most discernible reasons in the ensuing lines.

The first outstanding point which deserves some words here is that rapid advances in medical sciences has enabled us to detect infected food products and prevent their consumption. Otherwise stated, various types of diseases, caused by unhealthy food products, which were unknown, yet prevalent, in the past, are now understood and controlled. For example, one time, my grandfather told me about a disaster in his village which had been caused by a disease called Malta fever. He said that more than half of the village’s population were sick and nobody knew neither what the reason for their sickness was nor how to cure them. He said that many died during a few years. After years, researchers found out that they had gotten the Malta fever, eating infected dairies. Nowadays, milk and dairies that we buy from store are all checked for such diseases. Thus, the chance of getting Malt fever is almost zero. This shows how scientific improvements has enabled us to access healthy dairies.

Second important reason worth mentioning is that the technology of preserving food for a long time has enhanced dramatically. Put differently, today we can save our food for months without being worried about it going rotten. For example, a hundred years ago, having to use traditional methods for storing and conserving their food, people had no access to such a thing as freezer. As an example, they used salt to preserve meat for a long time, which increased the risk of consuming it after some days. Whereas, today, used at home to preserve fresh meat for months are freezers. Hence, understanding better methods and having access to more advanced instruments, today we can preserve food with lower risk for a longer time.

To sum up, progressing in detecting and preventing food-related diseases and food preservation methods, today, we are able to access more healthy food. Indeed, the result of this healthy food is apparent in the number of deaths from consumption of unhealthy food around the world, which has decreased dramatically over the recent decades.