In the past people ate food that was better for their health than they do today.

Since the dawn of civilization hitherto, the food we have been eating has been crucial to our survival. People’s health is strongly dependent on the food that they eat. Many people believe that what we eat today is healthier than what people usually ate in the past. However, I am of the opinion that today’s food is not as healthy as what our ancestors used to eat. That’s due to the fact that most types of commonly consumed foods today are preprocessed. Moreover, having less time to cook a meal, people consume more fast food. Following illustrations demonstrate my idea.

One imperative reason coming to mind at first is that, what we eat as food today is mostly preprocessed. Alternatively stated, most foods, being eaten by people today, have already suffered various types of changes. Changes such as adding additives for conservation or artificial tastes, reduce the quality of the food. For instance, my father once told me that when he was a child, the only type of meat they ate was fresh and unprocessed meat from butchery. Conversely, what we eat as meat today can vary from hamburger to sausages and many other types of meat. Clearly, these types of preprocessed foods contain various types of additives. Although these additives have been qualified by health care organizations, but there has always been some news about how some specific type of additive, which had not been considered as hazardous, was actually harmful to our health. For example, 2 years ago, a specific type of artificial taste, which had been widely used in nectars and drinks, was proved to increase the chance of cancer. Therefore, adding additives and preprocessing foods have decreased their quality.

Second, it is a deniable fact that spending a lot of time in traffic and at work, people don’t like to spend much time on cooking their meal. Thus, eating fast food has been drastically increasing during the last decades. It has been proved that eating fast food frequently, can result in obesity. This is mostly due to the oil in which fast food is fried or cooked. Additionally, doctors always talk about how obesity increases the chance of many diseases, such as heart attack and high blood pressure. For example, I have a friend who used to eat fast food a lot, when he was a child. Consequently, he has been suffering from obesity and now, after 20 years, struggling with high blood pressure is he. Hence, eating fast foods has become a serious problem for people’s health.

In conclusion, what we consume as food today is getting increasingly less and less healthy. That’s mostly due to the preprocessed food ingredients that we use in cooking, as well as the huge amount of fast food we eat today. Consequently, I suggest that we should take some steps back and make some change in our diet. It seems that the best way, is the most natural way, and the most natural way is the way our ancestors took.