Some adults believe that nowadays children’s behavior is worse than children’s behavior was in the past. These adults have suggested three actions that parents can do to help children ages 5–10 behave better (for example, by speaking more respectfully to adults or acting more kindly toward other children). Which ONE action that parents can do might have the most positive effect on their children’s behavior? Why?

In recent year, there has been a debate on how to make children behave better. Some people believe that limiting children to specific types of movies and television programs is the best idea, whereas, some others think supervising children when they are playing games with other children is the most effective solution. However, I firmly believe that in order to make children behave respectfully, parents need to spend more time talking with them. That is due to the fact that at ages around 5 to 10, children don’t like to be limited or supervised in any sense. Furthermore, they are mostly inclined to copy behavior they find desirable and talking with them is a great way to show them this behavior. Following illustrations demonstrate this Idea.

First and foremost, most children are willing to be as free as possible. Thus, they might get defensive when we try to limit them in any way. Put differently, if parents set restricted laws for what they can watch on television or in movies, they might try to oppose against these restrictions by doing them in secret. An example from my own experience can elaborate this point. My nephew was so stubborn because he had been banned by his parents from watching a television series called Game of Thrones. Actually, he had been downloading and watching the series for some weeks in secret. After consulting with a consultant, he implied that most of what he was doing was copied from a character in that series. The consultant said that he was just behaving that way because he needed to recover his limited freedom. Accordingly, whatever that makes children feel limited can deteriorate the situation.

Second, children like to copy the behavior they find desirable. Moreover, talking to them is a great example for a good and respectful behavior, which is likely to be copied by them. In other words, when you talk to children respectfully and ask them nicely to behave better, or when you give them examples of rude and respectful behavior, they will definitely find your behavior toward the situation desirable. Hence, they are very likely to try to be respectful like you. For instance, my cousins’ wife, who was a mature and well-behaved person, used to talk to her son very nicely and respectfully whenever he had done something wrong. Surprisingly, the child understood her well. Additionally, he was always willing to accept his mistakes and apologized for them. Consequently, treating children with respect and talking to them instead of limiting them or supervising them can help them a lot to behave themselves.

In conclusion, it is not a good idea to limit children’s freedom or supervise their behavior in order to make them treat others with respect. Instead, talking to them with respect can be the most effective way to make them behave themselves.