In the past, people ate food that was better for their health than they do today. Do you agree or disagree?

Since the dawn of civilization hitherto, the food we have been eating has been crucial to our survival, by the mean that people’s health strongly depend on the food that they eat. A considerable number of people believe that what we eat today is healthier than before. However, I am highly inclined to believe that our food is not as healthy as what our ancestors used to eat in the past, and today’s food is regarded as thoroughly both destructive and negative due to the fact that most types of commonly consumed foods today are preprocessed. Moreover, having less time to cook a meal, people consume more fast food. So, accompany me and Follow illustrations to demonstrate my idea.

One imperative reason which comes to mind at the first is what we eat as food today is mostly preprocessed. It is alternatively stated that most diets being taken by people nowadays have already suffered from various adverse types of food. Clearly, these types of preprocessed foods are faced with alteration such as enhancing additives for conservation or creating artificial tastes, which consequently reduce the quality of the food. Although these additives have been qualified by healthcare organizations, there has always been some news about how some specific type of these additives, which had not been considered as hazardous, was actually harmful to our health. From my own experience in my childhood, the only type of meat that has been achievable to eat was fresh and unprocessed meat provided with the butchery, contrary to what we eat as meat today. This can vary from hamburger to sausages and many other types of meat with a specific type of artificial taste that had been widely used in nectars and drinks. Therefore, adding additives and preprocessing foods has decreased their quality, and was proved to increase the chance of cancer.

Besides, it is undeniable fact that spending a lot of time in the traffic jam and at work, lessen people’s tendency to spend much time on cooking their meal. Thus, eating fast food and junk food in addition to the unacceptable nutritional habit has been drastically increasing during the last decades. Latest studies conducted by Sharif University have revealed that eating fast food frequently can pessimistically result in serious well-being issues such as cancer and optimistically to obesity, mostly due to the oil which fast food is fried or cooked in this kind of substances. Additionally, nutritionists always talk about how obesity not only increases the chance of many diseases, such as heart attack, it inevitably leads to high blood pressure. For instance, a friend of mine who used to eat fast food a lot in his childhood had been suffering from obesity and now, after 20 years, is struggling with high blood pressure. Hence, eating fast foods has become a serious problem, it can potentially impose irreparable impacts on people’s health.

In conclusion, weighing all arguments up against each other, what we consume as food today is getting increasingly less healthy. That’s mostly due to the preprocessed food ingredients that we use in cooking, as well as the huge amount of fast food we eat today. Consequently, I suggest that we should take some steps back and make some change in our diet. It seems that the best way is the most natural way, and the most natural way is the way our ancestors took.