Some adults believe that nowadays children’s behavior is worse than children’s behavior was in the past. These adults have suggested three actions that parents can do to help children ages 5–10 behave better (for example, by speaking more respectfully to adults or acting more kindly toward other children). Which ONE action that parents can do might have the most positive effect on their children’s behavior? Why?

Vividly, today, children’s behavior has become worse than before. There has been disagreement among people on how to make these children behave more respectfully and gently. Some parents prefer to spend more time talking to their children; however, others think that supervising them while playing games with other children is the best way. In my opinion, the most effective way for this purpose is to limit the types of television programs and movies they watch. That is because most movies depict and justify misbehavior by heroes. Furthermore, aggression is something common in television programs, which can adversely affect children’s behavior. In the following paragraphs, these reasons are elaborated using examples.

To begin with, watching movies that show some improper behavior and try to make it look fine, can have a severe influence on children. Otherwise stated, there are some heroes in most movies that do bad things for what is called “good reasons”. Many children like to copy what their heroes do. The most obvious example of these types of heroes is Robin Hood. When I was a child, he was a very popular hero among children. Robin Hood used to break laws continuously and rub rich people to help the poor. Most of his mean and inappropriate actions were copied by children of my own time, including me. If my parents banned me from watching that show, I would have never tried to duplicate his bad manner.

Second, aggression is very common in television programs. Clearly, constantly watching a lot of aggressive behavior in these types of shows can negatively affect children’s mind. Psychologically speaking, when someone considers some behavior to be bad and after that sees it repeatedly in television, unwantedly, this behavior gets to seem normal to him after a while. For instance, I remember that when I was a child, I had been watching a series of Bruce Lee’s movies, before I tried to hurt my brother. Fortunately, I wasn’t able to do any serious harm to him. However, the movies had an adverse effect on my behavior at that moment. Consequently, it is not right to let children watch any type of television shows they want, specifically the ones that contain aggressive scenes.

To sum up, I strongly believe that setting strict rules for the types of shows and movies children are allowed to watch is the most effective way to correct their behavior, for there is lots of wrong misbehavior shown and justified in these movies. Moreover, it is very likely that children try to copy the aggression they are exposed to, when they watch much television.