People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example new experiences, career progression, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

College is an important stepping stone in any student’s life and one that prepares them for the challenges of living as an adult and working in a business driven environment with other people. Therefore I think people attend college or university to get better jobs, be exposed to different cultures and traditions and finally to live on their own.

Firstly, it has been statistically proven that people with a graduate or post-graduate are paid more than people without a college degree. This outlines a key reason to go to college - better career paths and higher pay. More so, during graduation semester, many companies conduct on-campus interviews and offer jobs to students. This way students are able to secure jobs before they even graduate from college. This is a great way to start your career as the struggle of finding a job is reduced if not eliminated entirely. From personal experience I can say that the platform provided to be by college helped me immensely by allowing me to secure a job with IBM, one of the biggest companies in the world.

Secondly, college exposes students to great cultural diversity. The student populous consists of people from all parts of the world. With such great diversity students get to meet people of different social, economic and religious backgrounds and through interaction learn more about the differences in their cultures and traditions. Colleges even conduct extra-curricular activities which specifically focus on team-work and communication to enhance this mixing of cultures.

Lastly, college provides a platform where one is free to experiment with their time and interest to gain a deeper and better perspective about themselves and their personal and progressional interests. For example, when I was in college I discovered that I was interested in computer programming and I had a knack for designing good applications. So I learned how to write computer programs and combined that with my application design skills to become an application developer, all on my own. This skill wasn’t even related to my major in any way. College simply allowed me the time and space to cultivate this skill.

College is a fantastic place for a lot of reasons. Time spent in college is something that is unique and has no parallel in our lives. It is a time where we can grow from students to adults who can contribute to the development and advancement of our world and I think everyone should attend college at least once in their lives.