People can solve important problems in their daily life on their own or with the help of families. The help from the government is not necessary. Do you agree or disagree?

Our lives are full of difficulties, escaped by no one. Some people may claim we can resolve these difficulties with help and support of our families while some people propose that the government should take responsibility to pull citizens out of difficulties. As far as I am concerned, we need government in many cases where families have limitation.

Admittedly, we cannot live without families, as family numbers can pull together the strength to solve individual member’s problems, the power much more stronger than that of each individuals. For instance, when someone gets injured on legs and is unable to move freely, other family numbers can take care of the injured one’s daily life, cooking meal, cleaning room and helping shower, etc. Or when someone invests a failed project, lose lots of money, and have a huge debt as a result, his family numbers can withdraw their own money from accounts to pay off the debt. These instance can show the force of family. However, no matter how powerful help a family can support, the force of a family has limitation after all in many cases. As a result, this is why the government is needed by citizens.

Natural disaster is a good example. In 2008, Wenchuan city, China, was hit by a historically huge earthquake. Almost all buildings collapsed, leading the whole city to be destroyed and many citizens to be killed. Every family lost more or less members and nearly all poverty in this tragic earthquake, and they needed help to walk out from suffering and reconstruct their homeland. This difficult is out of the power of each family and if without the government, these people definitely cannot stand on the relic again. Moreover, the Chinese government sent a special rescue team immediately after the earthquake was detected to rescue lives. When all people were buried in collapsed buildings, without the government who could save them in time. As we know, the time is the key to save lives in natural disasters. In addition, after the completion of rescuing, the Chinese government allocated a great amount of money to reconstruct homeland and treat severely injured victims who were hopeless. If the power of a family is gathered from limited family numbers, the power of government is gathered from all citizens in this country, which is extremely stronger than that of family.

In conclusion, we need family, which is the harbor when we meet setback or get frustrated by difficulties. Nevertheless, we pay tax to government and thus it is government’s responsibility to help citizen solve some problems that overwhelm families.