People in communities can make decisions that protect and improve the natural environment. Which one of the following three actions is most useful for people to do if they want to help the environment in their local community? Explain why? Increase access to public transportation (for example, buses or trains) to reduce the number of automobiles on local roads Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As an inseparable part of glorious societies, protecting the environment is one the primitive concerns of human beings. However, the question of what is the most efficacious approach to improve the natural environment, has aroused as the subject of controversy among the authorities. When it comes to my position, I personally subscribe to the view that increasing access to public transportation is he most significant pillar of protecting the environment. I have some reasons, two of which will be aptly explicated hereunder.

The first reason worth discussing here is that increasing the public transportation positively affect the world hydrological condition. As a matter of fact, maintaining the status quo of public transportation is not a favorable decision for citizens, since they should spend a lot of time and energy to reach these facilities. In this way, they usually prefer to use their own cars. By so doing, the government is put under a lot of pressure to expand the road network. Developing road itself stimulates more people to use their private cars. If this trend follows, in the near future the surrounding environment will be completely destroyed. In other words, the more road ministry builds new roads, the more trees will be cut down. Trees are the most considerable blessing of every area. Not only do trees produce a large amount of oxygen, but also they regulate hydrological process in the environment. To be more specific, trees need carbon dioxide for their photosynthesis process, which significantly reduces the amount of this greenhouse gas in the atmosphere. As greenhouse gases prevent the cloud making process, eliminating them leads to much more clouds and regular precipitation as well as the more underground water reservoir in the following. Hence, expanding public transportation facilities has a key role in controlling the water cycle.

By the same token, another equally paramount point to be mentioned is that developing public transportation prevent animal extinction. Expanding public transportation dramatically decrease people's dependency on using their private cars which leads to less deforestation necessity. In fact, green areas are the main habitat of animals and plants. Manipulating the ecosystem brings about a variegated stream of unpredictable challenges. More precisely, all of the animals are in the relation of a predator, prey, consumer, producer at the same time. Therefore, disturbing the eco-environment situation causes food chain disruption. Furthermore, cars by burning fossil fuel release a huge amount of toxic greenhouses into the air which can adversely affect the climate pattern in the long run by global warming and increasing inter-glacial periods. These natural disruptions cause animal extinction, such as what has happened to dinosaurs million years ago. What's more, emitting poisonous gases provide a dangerous situation for free birds in nature which really threaten their lives. Consequently, extending public transportation has a direct impact on animals' life condition.

By and large, according to the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly agree with this standpoint that developing the public transportation has a great contribution to the preservation of the environment. I strongly recommended that government allocate extra fund budget for developing public transportation.