people spent time to much on more enjoyable-doing things than the things they should have done

All member of each society and group should do the specific task to improve their group level. They have to do their job to complete their defined mission. Of course, all human needed some extra enjoyment activity to recover and feely happy in order to increase their energy and improve their performance in their job. The balancing between the amounts of time spent on personal enjoyment-doing things and the task which has an obligation to do is really challenging. In my own perspective, I do not agree with the statement mentioned in the question topic. Following sentences will elucidate my opinion.

First of all, it is needless to say that, all achievement and success are required enough effort and time which should be spent on a specific task. People should spend more time to be sure that their job in respect of quality and quantity has been done adequately. For instance, I worked in a group which should retrofit more than two hundred damage building from the severe earthquake, all team member should work very hard to finish the job on time. There is a famous sentence which said "No pain No Gain".

Second, by passing the time, the population increases which attribute a more competitive atmosphere in finding jobs or getting admission from a well-knowing university, etc. People should do their job, exercise, homework, to increase their chance of accepting their favorable job or university admission. Nowadays people should sacrifice some of their short time of happiness for obtaining great position. For example, in my country, there is an entrance exam for the university with limited acceptance rate. The number of contemplates reached more than one million people, students in order to be accepted in good university should study hard enough to acquire top ten percent rank.

It is not deniable, that human require having fun which is necessary to increase mental and physical health condition, but it should not be too much to replace the work which was in high priority.

To sum up, I believe that people spend more time on the things they should do, as getting a job and having a well-fare life required sufficient effort. And, also by increasing the competition in all aspect of life people should work harder than doing personal enjoyment doing things.