People who develop different skills are more successful than people who develop one skill only.

Twenty-first century is an era of highly skilled and technically advanced people. The number of skills in the market are emerging with the evolution of new business trends and demands of technology, but to what extent these skills will mushroom is something no one can predict. People who develop different skills are more successful or people who develop one skill is highly debated. To my perception, the people developing skill related to one particular domain are more successful. Below mentioned are some noticable points in the support of idea.

First key aspect is, focusing on one skill is more easier than focusing on many skills. Time consumption is needed in order to learn one skill, followed by time to convert that it into an expertise, whereas it becomes tough for people to focus on many skills all at once. On the completion of one skill, other skill can be learned which might be time consuming. For instance, due to busy schedule people do not have much time to learn too many things at the same time so, they focus on improvising one skill more in order to excel or to take their career to a next level using that one skill. However, people focusing on different skills at the same time lack perfection in one thing resulting in chosing the wrong skill path sometimes.

Second factor contributing is that jobs are domain specific or skill specific and not multi-skill specified. For example, a coder cannot be a business manger at the same time, because management people are often the ones' having management degree but, coder can pursue business management course in order to become businness manager which might result in leaving his previous skill set of core coding.

To sum up the entire perception, I would say that different skills might enable us to do multi-tasking but will hinder us from the expertise that we can have therefore, person with one skill is more successful. In order to spearhead our career we always need to focus on making our skills more stronge.