Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays people are able to find the needed material in different ways. Some people think that it is better to work with books, while others think the opposite. In my opinion, I contend that both of them have pros and cons. However, I am off the conviction that it is better to use the Internet. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I would explore in the following essay.

To begin with, we need to take into consideration that using fewer books would save the green planet. It is not a secret that in the current days our air is more polluted than ever before because human beings are cutting down trees in order to produce paper and other facilities. However, if people use the Internet instead of books for the access to information then more trees would be saved. My personal experience is a compelling example of that. Two years ago, our teacher of biology told our class to prepare the project. To be more specific, me and my classmates together needed to prepare the plan on how to save our world from pollution. We had only a week, therefore we decided to stop buying any books or articles and instead of that, we tried to use the Internet. Initially, it seemed hard but then everybody just gets used to that and it was easier than expected. At the end of the week, we realized that we saved approximately five trees and our professor was amazed that we received our excellent marks. As you can see, just using the Internet helps our nature to stay fresh.

Apart from that, we cannot ignore the fact that the Internet saves our money and time. In contrast, books may cost expensive and plus it takes a while before you can find the needed book. In addition, one should note here that not all people can afford it, especially if you are a student. An apt illustration for that is my older sister’s experience. When she was a student, she needed to use her money wisely because she studied abroad, where everything does not cost cheap. After the first semester, she realized that most of her budget was spent on books, which professors told her to buy as mandatory. Moreover, it was hard to find these articles because other students also were searching for that. However, she decided to talk to her teachers and explain her situation that it would more advantageous for her if she would practicing by the Internet. Fortunately, her professors allowed her to do so and, as a result, she was able to save not only her income but also her time. She believes that she would not have conserved her time and income by educating with books. Accordingly, it demonstrates that the Internet is more beneficial.

To sum up, I firmly believe that using the Internet is more advantageous than printed materials. This is because the access to the Internet preserves not only trees but also your budget and time.