TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays information plays an important role in our lives because it helps us to be aware of something. Some people think that a well-informed person is the one who looks through different sources of material. Others think the opposite. From my point of view, I agree with the first category of people. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, some sources of material may include wrong-based information. Moreover, that can cause problems because a person would be worrying for nothing. In contrast, when a person looks through a variety of sites to know what is happening then it is easier for him to identify if it true. My friend’s experience is a compelling example of that. Two years ago, when we were at school, we were discussing earthquakes at biology class. Different people were telling different stories that they know about this theme. Then my friend decided to tell something interesting. He told that when he was living near mountains, he wonders how frequently earthquakes happen. On one site he found out that they happen every day but in the other source he read that not that often and that made him confused until he gets to know that one of them is based on the false material. As a result, I was taught that in order to be well-informed we need to look through many sources of material.

Secondly, we need to take into the consideration that when we are looking for information, we also may want to know more about that. To explain my position I would give my personal example. A year ago, when I was studying in the tenth grade, I needed to prepare a presentation history class about Egypt. In the beginning, I did not know that looking for the information would be a challenging work because I thought I can find everything I need in one site but I was wrong. And in order to make an interesting project, I needed to take a different kind of information and that would also make it look unique. In addition, I needed to carefully read the material and then decide if that can be used in the presentation. After a week, I finished my work and received an excellent mark. I believe I would not have made my project well-informed by just using one single site. As you can, for one theme you can find a lot of material and to know more we need to search for more material.

To sum up, even though some may oppose my opinion I firmly believe that a well-informed person should look through a variety of different source of information. This because it helps us to identify the false information and, also, to be a smarter person.