Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship is essential for everyone, having few friends when you feel down can help establish a stronger friendship and a way to deal with your stress. I agree that making new friends can be fun, but I consider longterm friendships with few friends more important because of three reasons which I will be further elaborating on in the following essay.

Talking from personal my experience, I believe that it is hard to be friends with everyone. Constantly trying to establish new friendships is exhausting for me, and it would not leave me the time to stay in touch with my old friends. In my opinion, friendships only become stronger if I can go through a lot with my friend. Through a long-lasting friendship, my friend and I will understand each other a lot better compared to someone I just met for a few days.

In my opinion, I would most likely to trust a friend I know for years over a friend I just met. It takes a long time for us to trust someone else if I am unable to maintain a long-term friendship with a few of my friends I would have no one to trust, no one to talk to that I know understands me. At least, in my opinion, I believe that I need to know someone well enough before I tell them any of my secrets. I remember once when I tried to tell a friend my secret when I have not had a chance to get to know them enough, I was uncomfortable and turns out she sold me out and spreader my secrets as rumors. I was unwise to share secrets with someone I hardly know, if I were able to know her well enough and know that she is the type of person that would spread my secrets I would not have told her.

Lastly, adding on to my afore point of trust, I would go to my trustworthy friends for decisions. I do not think a friend I've only met for a few days will consider the ethics of my choices and actions. I believe that it is less likely that they will help me think of the possible consequences. I remember when I went to a friend I've met for only a week for suggestions, they didn't seem to care and they seemed to give me a very random suggestion without considering it. It makes me feel odd and unreliable. I bet if I were one of her childhood friend she would care and give me a suggestion that she believes is best for my situation.

To conclude I believe that long-term friendships are precious, the strong friendships established over a long period is genuinely reliable. Therefore I disagree with the statement.