Reading books is important for children to gain knowledge about the world However some parents force their children to read non fiction books as they believe fiction is not good for children Do you agree or disagree Use specific reasons and examples to su

Since when we were young, our parents emphasized the importance of reading books. Fiction is for developing creativity and non-fiction is for fostering the knowledge of children. However, some parents mandate children to read non-fiction books because they believe that fiction is not good for them. However, I disagree with this claim and ardently assert that we should not force children on what to read for two reasons.

First, fiction tells stories of characters that cultivate literary knowledge and teach children moral lessons. Although fantasy may be incorporated in the story to boost the imagination of children, the personalities of characters and outcomes of the plot are all similar to reality. For instance, "To Kill a Mockingbird" by Harper Lee encompasses a series of events that are seen through a six-year-old girl. However, its real message is about the exploration of moral questions, social inequality, and prejudice. Symbolism helps the readers think about the previous topics, asking whether humans are fundamentally good or evil. With such novels, children can rethink their actions and society. If the children are to face the same information in non-fiction books, they will face the extreme difficulty of having to analyze reports and psychological explanations of documents.

Second, fiction does not just deal with stories; factual knowledge has to be incorporated to analyze the work. When looking at the novel "Around the World in Eighty Days" by Jules Verne, the main protagonist visits parts of the world as a bet in his club. The reader can gain information about the international date line and culture of the visited countries while in progress. Like so, several novels require background knowledge of various topics to proceed further into the plot, and children can consequently gain related information. Just because fictions contain stories of imaginary characters, it does not mean it confines children in the fictional world.

Because of these two reasons, I strongly disagree with the idea of forcing non-fiction books to children. Although the two areas are different in the type of content, it is indisputable that they all deepen the insights of the world. We have to let children swim freely in the ocean of imagination.