required students to take history course in university

Even though history documented many fundamental developments and events for every country, and it seems to be important for everyone to be familiar with them, it shouldn’t be a required part of the school. In my opinion, some disadvantages can follow on the close heels of it. Therefore, I don’t agree with this statement.

To begin with, since students are asked to attend the courses regarding history, they will be graded with scores. Nevertheless, I believe that this is not fair. Not all students are adept at history. Some students might be worried of getting bad grades. Furthermore, students selected their favorable majors before they entered college, which means that students who didn’t choose to major in history might not have an interest in history. For example, I studied biotechnology in college and if I were required to take historical courses, I think that I might not have good grades because of the lack of interest and I might be worried about the fairness between students. Therefore, I disagree with this statement.

Second, if all students need to take history courses, universities probably need to have enough resources and teachers. Nonetheless, this might bear some financial burdens on some universities. They might not be able to afford enough teachers to open courses that guarantee that every student can take part in classes. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I studied at a university that is known for science and technology. There aren’t any department or course that is related to history. In addition, as far as I know, we didn’t have professors that are professionals in history. Accordingly, my university might have difficulty letting every student take history courses.

Last but not least, I concur that it’s important for students to be familiar with the development and past of their countries. However, there are plentiful ways for students to acquire historical knowledge. For example, as long as we are willing to, we can read some history books or articles in the library or through the Internet comfortably. Therefore, I strongly believe that students shouldn’t be asked to study history. Instead, it should be open for students to study history without restriction. It is participation rather than excellence that matters the more.

To summarize, from what I’ve mentioned above, I believe that it might induce some drawbacks if students are asked to take history courses in university. It won’t be fair for non-history majoring students, and it might be difficult for some universities to satisfy this requirement. As a result, I disagree with this statement.