school work and get a decent night's sleep if you happen to be living in the family home. I can recall a friend from my university days who lived in a share house with other students. Life was a party for him but he didn't eat or study well and inevitably his grades suffered. He had to repeat several subjects and finished his degree later than many of his peers.

Becoming an adult is a really special time in anybody's life and the call to head out into the world and embrace our independence is, for many people, quite powerful. I1 think this can depend on a lot of different factors; for example, somebody starting a job might have different needs and priorities compared to a person who intends to go on and study at university. Generally speaking, I believe that it is better for all concerned if young adults continue to live with their families for a longer time, particularly if they are going to be studying at university or something similar.

First of all, it's important to consider finances. Certainly, it is possible for some young adults to get work and support themselves relatively quickly. However, in most parts of the world these days it costs a lot to rent a house, attend university, buy a car or purchase things like insurance. By way of example, I can recall trying to live independently outside the family home as a university student and I constantly struggled to pay bills and meet all the other costs of living as a young adult. This, in turn, had adverse effects on things like my study performance.

Hence, in addition to the importance of finances, I think this is better for young adult's study potential. With your family's support, it is a lot easier to focus on your studies. Of Course, for some people in some situations, the family situation may actually be quite distracting for stressful. However, I think it would be fair to say that (for most people) you are more likely to eat better meals, have a quiet place to do school work and get a decent night's sleep if you happen to be living in the family home. I can recall a friend from my university days who lived in a share house with other students. Life was a party for him but he didn't eat or study well and inevitably his grades suffered. He had to repeat several subjects and finished his degree later than many of his peers.

Finally, staying at home with one's parents doesn't necessarily mean that a young adult cannot develop independence. I'll be the first to admit that there are parents out there who struggle to acknowledge that their children have grown up and deserve treatment as adults; it's instinctive in many of them to continue to play a 'mothering' role that can actually be quite stifling for a young adult. Despite this possibility, even though I spent most of my university days living with my parents, they respected me as an adult as well as their child and they didn't attempt to interfere too much or limit my independence. I think this is the case for many other young people as well, so I don't think it is necessarily fair to claim that, just because someone is living with their family, they are somehow unable to enjoy the benefits of independence.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I'm of the opinion that in most cases it's actually more beneficial for most adults to continue living with their families for a longer period of time. Families are precious things and an essential part of the fabric of a nurturing society, so I have a strong belief that they can be a powerful guide in helping children negotiate the path to independence.