For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better for other teachers to assess or let students assess teachers?

It is obvious that education plays a vital role in humans’ life. it affects not only living conditions of people but also the future of a society. Different factors influence improving the quality of education in schools containing having well-equipped laboratories, libraries, and so on. Another important factor that should be considered is assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency in schools. I strongly believe that it is much better for students to be allowed to evaluate teachers by themselves instead of assessing teachers by their colleagues. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my view using some reasons and examples.

I think in schools, it is a good opportunity for students to evaluate their teachers from different aspects including teachers’ knowledge, experience, behavioral traits, and etc. it allows teachers to be aware of the opinion and views of students towards themselves and to know their weakness points. It will help teachers to improve their abilities in order to increase the efficiency of teaching and learning in classrooms. In addition, students can better assess their teachers than other teachers because of the fact that they know their teacher more than others. As a result, their opinions about their teacher’s teaching ability and other attributes can be more constructive. For example, we had a teacher in biology class last term, and he used old materials to teach instead of up-ta-date ones; thus, students are not satisfied with this issue. The process of evaluation of teachers by students enabled them to convey their attitudes towards the way of teaching of their teacher. Consequently, he changed his instructional materials and utilized newer ones to teach in later terms.

Moreover, rating teachers by other teachers is not reasonable. They do not have exact information about the methods of teaching other teachers because they do not attend classrooms. Factors which they consider to judge other teachers are different form elements that are important for students. As a result, it is obvious that assessment of teachers by their colleagues cannot help improvement of the teaching procedure and do not have positive effects on children’s learning.