For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better for other teachers to assess or let students assess teachers?

Teachers play a crucial role in children life. They teach them not only related courses but also how to be a proper person for the society. Teachers assessment is one of the indispensable function of any school to make sure that all of them should their responsibility. Schools conduct the different approach to evaluate them including, giving questionary papers to students to assess their teachers, using teachers to realize success rate and popularity of a particular teacher. Among different options, I subscribe to the idea that is more advantageous to evaluate teachers by their own students.

First and foremost, students have seen various teachers during their formative years of education. Accordingly, they have well-rounded thoughts and information regarding whether a certain teacher is good or not. It should be stressed that students have been in touch with two to five teachers in each year of their education. On the other hand, they spend more time with a teacher than anybody else in the school. If a teacher did a good job, they can easily understand.

More importantly, assessment of teachers by students can have a proper impact on the teachers. When a tutor notices that they are going to be assessed by students, they would show more responsibility. Furthermore, in the case of unsatisfaction in the children, they would put as much effort as possible to modify their teaching approach, failing that would have a detrimental effect on their career. Take my own experience as an example. I had an economics teacher during secondary school. Although he was a knowledgeable person, compare to other teachers he would not use latest technologies in the class like Powerpoint presentation. We needed to write down from the blackboard and it was a huge distraction for us. After assessment, we mentioned this problem and told it to the supervisor orally. For the next year, we heard that he changed his approach to teaching. This example shows that it is more beneficial to assess teachers by students

In a nutshell, I truly believe that it would be more beneficial if children evaluate their own teachers because first, they spend most of their time with him/her. Second, assessment by teachers would lay the foundation of having elite and diligent teachers in the society.