For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better for other teachers to assess or let students assess teachers?

It is obvious that education is one of the most important parts of humans’ life. without a proper education, people are not able to achieve their objectives in their life. undoubtedly teachers play a vital role in training children and thus assessment of teachers’ performance in schools directly affect students’ learning efficiency. I strongly believe that it is much better for students to evaluate their teachers by themselves instead of rating teachers by their colleagues. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss my views using some reasons and examples.

I think that there are different criteria in order to assess teachers. Also, for the purpose of increasing students’ efficiency, it is crucial for students to judge their instructors by themselves. Students know their teacher better than others and are in direct contact with them. they are well aware of abilities and knowledge of their teachers to teach as well their weakness points. As a result, student’s evaluation positively affect improvement of teachers’ performance and thus would be helpful for them. for instance, we had a teacher in high school who used old materials to teach students and children are not satisfied with this issue. Therefore, after the process of assessment, he changed his instructional material and used newer ones.

Moreover, if teachers are assessed by their colleagues, it cannot be useful for students. In other words, it is not reasonable to evaluate teachers using this method because they are not well aware of their teaching methods and their behavior traits in classroom. In addition, it is possible that other teachers judge each other based on their relationships. That is, if there is a good friendship between them, they assess each other very good and vice versa. As a result, it is better for both teachers and students to allow students to measure their instructors’ performance and quality of teaching. For instance, when I was in university, one of our teachers had good behavior towards other staff and faculty. Therefore, they judge greatly, whereas, in point of view of students she are not able to convey lessons to students perfectly and thus the grades of students were low and children did not have enough productivity. Therefore, criteria which students consider are completely different from teachers to assess a teacher’ performance.

To sum up, according to above arguments and mentioned points, I believe that in order to increase in and improve in students’ efficiency, teachers should be evaluated by students rather than other teachers.