Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Modern agriculture does damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment. @aalaeeTOEFLiBT

Agriculture plays an indispensable role in feeding earth population. With the growth of human population and scarcity of resources, some people believe that no matter how much we damage the environment, we should try our best to provide more food for the public. However, I subscribe to the view that we cannot turn a blind eye to the environment since it could harmfully affect various facets of human's life.

First and foremost, damaging environment by activities like deforestation would impose detrimental effects on human's health. Admittedly, we have been faced with various earth destructions in the human history. Nowadays, many environment specialists warn governments about their policies and mention consequences of their successor's policies which impose irreversible impacts on the earth including, climate change and air pollution. These two factors have provoked numerous illnesses and diseases on the human's body. According to the large-scale survey done by World Health Organization number of people in the world suffering from lung cancer increases thirty percent compared to the 30 years ago. The researchers claim that most possible explanation of this issue is increasing the amount of Carbon Dioxide in the environment and that is because of various factors like deforestation. it should be stressed that in the case of overlooking human responsibilities regarding preserving the environment, the earth will become a place where no longer can play its previous hospitable role

More importantly, inclining toward modern agriculture by processes which are harmful to earth imposes severe effects on the economy. Without any doubt, if we try to damage the environment in order to provide more food for humans, governments will allocate a sheer scale of the budget to make the earth a better place for humans to live in the future. As an economic point of view, economic development obtaining by damaging the environment is not sustainable. Many economists have mentioned that consequences of this approach and warn the world's states to avoid these actives since it will deteriorate the economic situation of people going to live in the future.

In a nutshell, I disagree with idea that governments should not interfere in the agriculture sector by introducing various laws to protect the environment because if they neglect their role, our next generation will pay the price of our negative policies. I think we reach a stage of humans history that not only people should not ruin the environment, but also they should put as much as effort possible to leave a better earth for their children.