Schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Atending school is one of the most important things we do in our life. The quality of our studies and the level of our edjucation usully determines our job and career. Some people believe students should be asked to evaluate their teachers. Some disagree. In my view in order to improve the quality of teachers, they should be evaluated by students for two important reasons.

First, it will prevent waste of time in classrooms. Using time efficently is one of the main objectives that every good teacher should have, and it really affects the quality of edjucation. If the teachers know that they one of the things that they will be evaluated for, is the amount of time management, they will try to not waste time in classrooms. For example, I remmember when I was in high school, the teachers were not evaluated by anyone, so some of the teachers used to spend half of the class telling jokes or speaking about something irrelevent to the topic of the course. This can harm students in lots of ways. For instance, our chemestry teacher did not finish the course materials that he was suppose to teach in my last year of high school because of lack of time management, and as a result me and my other classmates did not learn some of the most important parts of our book. As a result me and my classmates did not do good in the national university entrence exam, which is the most important and most competetive exam students take in their educational lifetime in Iran. I believe if the teachers, were being monitored, the teachers would have finished the courses on time, and we would have been more seccesful.

Second, it can motivate the teachers to teach better. Generally speaking we would do better in our work if we know that we will be evaluated for what we do. This applies to the teachers too. I believe if teachers know that the students will grade them too, they will try to improve their quality of their teaching. For example, when I was in university of tehran, at the end of the year the teachers were evaluated by students. I remmeber, one teacher had a were bad handwriting so students gave bad points on that matter. In the other semmester, I had another course with him, and I saw a great improvment in his handwriting. This experiment thought me that if the teachers be evaluated, they will try to improve and avoid their mistakes.

In sum, I believe it is very benefitial to evaluate the teachers. Not only do they will improve their quality of their teaching but they also will avoid wasting time.