Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some people agree with the opinion of cities should get rid of the old building and replace them with new modern buildings whereas some other believes that cities must preserve the old and historic buildings. Both notions have different advantages but this essay is focused on the idea of preserving the old, historic places in a city with the following reasons.

First, today we see many modern structures in cities and we know that these structures are not difficult to build since the modern buildings have a simple and similar design. Nevertheless, old buildings have more complicated and sophisticated design and look which gives joy even by looking. It is getting more meaningful when we start to learn that the old buildings were constructed without using professional civil engineering and architectural tools and programs. It makes one think that how could it be possible to build these buildings without using such tools. We can see the worth of these historical structures by asking this question.

Secondly, these old structures can be a great tourist magnet because many people travels to see historical buildings. There is a growing desire of seeing historical places and learning different informations about various cities in many people. Every city have their own significant places and structures which creates an attraction for tourists and travellers. Furthermore, tourists are a vital source of money thus, they are an irreplaceable part of the economy of a city. That is why, cities must keep their historic places safe and pay attention to save them.

Thirdly, historical structures gives an idea about the culture and the past life style of a city which are very useful informations for students of architecture, sociology and etc. Providing information about the past of a city is useful to plan the future of a city. Additionally, historic structures can be a source of inspiration for new buildings.

As a conclusion, preserving old and historic places are important not only for their value but also for the economy of the city. That is why, cities shouldn't destroy the old buildings, they better renovate them instead.