Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Undoubtedly, old, historic buildings are now an integral part of modern, urban areas. This brings up a controversial question: is it worth to keep these ancient structures or to destroy and supplant them by modern ones. Personall speaking, I strongly believe that it is essential to preserve old buildings. There are three points in support of my viewpoint that are discussed in the following passage.

Firstly, availability of historic structures helps people to extend their knowledge. In fact, each old building is associated to a specific period of time which represents the building materials and style of architecture common in each history period of architecture. Additionally, many of them are attracting for young scientists and artists in terms of aesthetical characterists including their outstanding wall paintings or amazing adornments used in their construction. Therefore, historic buildings would definitely give young adults better understanding of the lifestyle and culture of their ancestors.

Furthermore, old-fashioned buildings feature largely in better economic conditions. They attract many tourists from other parts of the world. In other words, people tend to go to other cities to visit historic structures. They do not want to see cement, modern giants with no character in them. As a result, the more archaic structures exist in our city, the more tourists will come to visit our neighborhood and this, in turn, means that both local and inter-community business would be improved. More shops will be built to present traditional hand-crafts and souvenirs to the visitors. More restaurants and food-stands provide visitors with ready-made and local dishes. Tourists also would bring their commodities into transaction with local merchants. Consequently, an improved commerse would be the definite result of these economic activities.

Finally, old buildings would bring more fun to urban areas. Interestingly, old buildings are often considered as the center of national ceremonies. Holding such celebrations remarkably makes city environment more dynamic. For example, Sardar Amjad castle in my hometown is the place where our national victory day is held. This day is the most enjoyable day full of joy and excitement for almost all Iranians. People enjoy the spectacular view of the castle, which is surrounded by mountains on one side and sea on the other side. Visitors can see and choose traditional costumes they are allowed to wear their favorite costumes and take photos in funny gestures in old-fashioned scenes as well.

To summarize, taking into account all these factors, I firmly conclude that old buildings should not be destroyed in order not to hur our general knowledge, economic, and happiness. In my opinion, it is a crime to destroy them.