Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Public transportation has become important part of my life. Without public transportation it would be difficult to move to and fro from one place to another. Some people believe that the government should spend money on improving roads and the highways, while others disagree. Personally, I think that the government should spend money on improving a public transportation as it has many advantages.

First, public transportation helps to keep the environment pollution free. If public transportation is improved and well maintained people will use more often than the personal vehicle. Thus leading to less amount of pollution. For example, when I was at the University before 2 years in New York, I was very much impressed by the public transportation as it was very well maintained. I use to travel much more often in the subways. Few days before, I was reading one of the articles in the New York Times and it stated that, even if there is 10 % increase in the number of people using public transportation than there would be 20 % decrease in the overall pollution. So this clearly illustrates that government should spend money on improving public transportation.

Second, Public transportation will be less expensive. The cost of public transportation is very less in comparison to the gas used in the car. Even the maintenance of the car is not cheaper. For instance, currently, I am working in Metairie which is one of the suburbs of the New Orleans. In this area the public transportation is very bad. The bus frequency is every very low. So I usually use my car to go to the work. Due to this I spend around 50 dollars for the gas and 300 dollars every six months on the maintenance of the car. On the other hand, I could get a monthly pass of RTA bus for just 55 dollars a month. But due to poor service I am forced to use my car. By looking at this we can make out that public transportation is less expensive and more people will use public transportation if they are well maintained.

Third, public transportation will help to avoid the problem of finding parking space. Nowadays, as the number of cars and personal vehicles are increasing it is hard to find a parking space. I would say it has become next to the impossible. I am working as a Manager at Office of Safety and it is located near one of the busiest streets that is Canal Street. Near Canal Street there are many companies and almost 3000 people are working in this area. So you can just imagine the number of the people looking for the parking spot. On the top of that, I am always late to work so I have to park my car almost a mile away from my office. Sometime in summer it becomes so inconvenient because of walking in the heat. I wouldn’t be suffering if the government would have invested more money on the public transportation.

In sum, government should invest more money on the public transportation. By doing this it will help to save the environment, transportation will be less expensive and more convenient to the people. I would suggest that every city should spend more money on the public transportation.