Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

The use of public transportation had made such a big difference in the people's lives. Most of the people on our country are unable to purchase their own private vehicle hence, they rely only with the public transportation to help the complete their day to day activities. Although, we cannot erase the fact that improving the roads and highways would also be a good idea. I personally believe that the government should focus first on the needs of the majority and that is the improvement of the public transportation.

The use of buses, taxi and jeepney in our country has been very helpful particularly with the students. Most of the students from our country came from a middle class family that are unable to purchase their own car therefore, improving the public transportation by increasing its availability to the people would provide a positive impact on the students because they no longer have to endure the long wait for the buses to arrive and the congestion that they usually encounter because of its limited availability. This will make their travel relaxing and more comfortable.

Another thing is that, improving the public transportation by decreasing its fare could also have a big effect on reducing the traffic in the city. For example, if the government decided to decrease the fare in the bus, trains and jeepney. People would more likely use the public transportation instead of their own car because it is much cheaper compared to gas. In this way, they would be able to save more money too that they could use future.

To sum it all up, both of the idea presented in this essay are helpful to the people in our society. However, I think that the government should focus in the idea that will benefit most of its citizen and that is by improving the public transportation because this will ultimately make the life of the commuter more relaxing, comfortable and at the same time if more people will use this method of transportation less private cars would be on the street thereby reducing the traffic in the city.