Should one judge a person by external appearances?

In our everyday life, we always experience some situations in which we wonder whether someone should be judged based on their appearances. Some people may hold the view that someone's character and identity affect their appearance so strongly that we can learn a lot about their personality only by looking at their clothes and face. However, others may take the opposite viewpoint and believe that someone's appearance cannot form the basis of a good knowledge of deep layers of their character. I personally incline towards the latter opinion for several main reasons, through which I try to elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

The first reason and maybe the most important one is that human being is a very intricate creature. Everyone's character is multi-layered, and we cannot judge them correctly only based on brief shallow information we can get from their appearance. For thousands of years, many philosophers and anthropologists have already formed a plethora of theories about who is human and how we can explore it, and there is not yet a widely accepted way to discover the very depth of a person's identity. Someone may not be able to identify some hidden aspects of their partner even after years of mutual relationship. If we judge a person only based on their appearance, it is quite possible that we will reach a misconception about them.

The second reason I can give is that sometimes, people tend to pretend to be in a special social class they don't belong to, or to behave differently from what they actually are. A clear example is a clown, which is widely supposed to behave in a funny and amusing way for other's entertainment, although their personal life may be the opposite. Their colorful clothes and funny face don't necessarily represent their intrinsic quality and character. Therefore, a judgment based on them may lead us to jump to a wrong conclusion.

Thirdly, not only may deciding about other people by their appearances lead to a misconception about them, but also we can miss great opportunities to make good friends. We all have already met a person who dressed in not very expensive clothes while they have behaved in a decent manner, which impressed us. By making decision about people based on their appearances, we are most likely to eliminate a lot of worthy people, who may be more loyal and kind to us than other people, from our friends list.

In summary, based on the aforementioned arguments, there is a myriad of reasons that convince me to hold the idea of not judging other people based on their appearances. Some of them, such as the multi-layered character of human beings, people's pretense of being someone else, and missing the opportunities to make friends, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that deciding about people based on their appearances is likely to lead to misconception.