Some gifts we receive are particularly special to us. Why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, people receive gifts for birthdays, Valentine’s day, the Spring Festival, school graduation and other special occasions. In days past, gifts were much rarer. When I look back on the year I spent growing up in the poor family, I see very few gifts in my young life. There was one special present, however, that I will never forget.

In my third year of elementary school, my father gave me a bicycle after I placed first in the whole class. At that time, we didn’t have much money and so a bicycle to ride for fun was really a luxury item. From the first day of kindergarten I was a good student, and I consistently ranked in the top three, semester after semester. Still, my family never bought me a “prize” because they could not afford it. For reasons unknown to me, that spring was an exception. My father told me he would get me a gift if I did well again. Actually, I had never really thought about getting a present. It was enough for me to know that my parents are proud of me; that was all the motivation I needed. I was happy I could please them with good grades.

Once again, I ranked top of my class at the end of the semester. Not long after grades were posted, as I was returning home, I noticed there was a brand new bike standing in front of our small apartment. Running inside, I found my father sitting in a lounge chair fanning himself in the summer heat. I could see a smile on his usually serious face, but I rushed out to try the bike. From that day, that smiling face has been deeply etched in my memory, serving to encourage me during tough times.

Without a doubt, this bicycle was a special childhood gift, a tangible symbol of my achievements and my parents’ approval. Yet now that I am grown, I realize that the memory of that day is an even greater gift.