The government has announced that it plans to build a new multilane highway near where you live. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living near this project. What is your view of this project? Give details to support your opinion.

Building a multilane highway certainly has its advantages, but in my opinion, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits, as I shall discuss below.

First, living near a highway means living in a noisy environment. Due to the high speed limit of a highway, a large number of vehicles will roar through your house with the loud noise beating your eardrums. The situation is especially unbearable at night. Many drivers like to drive after sunset, hoping to get to the destination before seeing the sun again. Therefore, when the night sets in, and I lie in bed, the annoying sound of the speeding cars will significantly affect my sleeping quality.

Second, there is also ecological concern regarding the newly constructed highway. While it is true that every construction will more or less disrupt the environment, the highway is such a colossal structure that it is bound to wreak great havoc on the local ecology. Specifically, the situation gets worse when the road cuts through vast areas of grasslands. For example, I live in a green region inside the city. The environment surrounding my house is so pleasant that I like to stroll near my residence in the morning, enjoying the natural beauty. Unfortunately, if the highway goes through, likely, I can never hear the birds chirping in the trees or watch the butterflies dancing in the flowers again. It is such a huge loss for my life.

On the other hand, some people might argue that having a highway nearby one's house is convenient. Driving for a short time, you are on your way to any destination. However, the convenience of it is tempered by the fact that we don't use the highway often. I live in the countryside of a city. On weekdays, I typically take the bus to school, and there is no need for a highway. On weekends, I love to go hiking with my friends, and we will take a taxi together. Only on the summer vacation or the winter vacation do I have the opportunity to travel to a distant area, and in this case, I will utilize the highway.

Moreover, on a larger scale, building a highway may benefit our economy as a whole by creating a lot of job opportunities. Nonetheless, I believe that there are many other ways to boost the economy, such as constructing a theater or a stadium. While a theater or a stadium is good for our mental and physical health, a highway is simply a different way of transportation.

In sum, although building a highway involves many intricacies and is not a black-and-white choice, not constructing one is definitely my preference.