In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in

power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I don’t fully agree with the agreement. Some people might argue that when those in power stay in their positions for several decades, even until they die, they may become corrupted, reluctant to change, or even incapable of leading the whole organization. However, while this argument may be true in most professions, in some circumstances, such as education and business, where experience plays a major role, stepping down after five years will not be good. Also, a change of leader every five years may cause the one in power reluctant to prepare for the long-term future. Instead, he will be prone to make policies that have short-term effects but may be inimical to long-term development.

Albert Einstein, one of the most prodigious scientists of all time, is a good example. While he was considered reluctant to change and unable to adopt new physical ideas by young scientists, they still view him with high regard. Not only because he came up with the theory of relativity a long time ago, but also because his profound understanding of nature is still useful.

Take Warren Buffet, for example. He had led his company for many decades and is still leading his company. His experience will only be more valuable over time. If he steps down after five years, the successor will likely change his previous investment in the stock market. These changes might lead to unnecessary perturbations, since in the business world, focusing on long-term trends is far more important than focusing on a short-term fad.

On the other hand, changing the one at power every five years is sensible in politics. Governments take control of the whole country. They have the right to change the law, declare war, etc. that can significantly influence the life of every national, sometimes even the whole world. Thus, to ensure the precise use of this mortal power, an election is necessary. This might bring about some detrimental effects as changing leaders in an enterprise, but this is a necessary evil.

The tradition of the emperor has existed in China for thousands of years. When an emperor cares about the people, the whole country will prosper. Nonetheless, when the one in power is a deposit, it might lead to the starvation of millions of people and the corruption of the whole government.

Those in power should step down after five years might be a good practice in some professions, such as politics. However, it is not an appropriate system in other areas, such as business. There should be some flexibility in the stepping down system to take different circumstances into account.