Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Rich people who do not work will be happy.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, rich people not working is unhappy. Not being rich, I can’t fathom the lifestyle and mindset of a millionaire. Nonetheless, I believe that wealthy people will not be happy if they do not work.

First, true happiness stems from self-actualization, and working is arguably the most profound way toward achieving this. In the hierarchy of needs proposed by Maslow, self-actualization is at the top of the pyramid. While some needs, such as food and security, may be achieved by wealth, the highest one requires a commitment through working. Working is a way of making full use of our inner potential, and by working, we can chase after our dream of a lifetime. We are giving through working, and by working, we feel that we are needed, and thus a sense of achievement arises, making us feel happy. Conversely, if we are not working, we are receiving. Though we can acquire a cornucopia of food and comfort with considerable wealth, emptiness will drown our hearts.

Second, the process of chasing after a dream, not the result of achieving a goal, is the source of fulfillment. If we lead an affluent life, it is likely that we already have everything we want. On the surface, we have nothing to worry about. However, human desire is infinite. When we have a lot, we want more, and what we have is always not enough to fulfill our appetite. On the contrary, if we have few possessions at hand, we will feel gratified if we make a little progress toward our dream through working. Thus, we will be proud of ourselves for what we have done every day and thus lead a fulfilling life.

In sum, work is vital to our well-being. Without work, even rich people will sense that something is missing and feel unhappy.