The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter argues that Parson City residents value a good education in public schools more than Blue City residents do since the Parson City spent more money in public schools than Blue City did while the numbers of their residents are the same. To make the argument more convincing, some evidence needs to be established.

The letter mentions that Parson City has spent more money in public school than Blue City has and that the majority of the money comes from the taxes they collect. However, what is the exact meaning of “majority”? Does it mean 51% or 99%? If the money from the taxes only accounts for about 50% of the source of it, then it may not be of such paramount importance in evaluating the city’s focus on education. Maybe almost half of the money is coming from other sources, such as the revenue of city-run enterprises and the fund the federal government gives them. The letter should list all the money sources.

Furthermore, is the number of residents representative of the number of taxes? Maybe the tax levied on each resident by Parson City is heavier than that by Blue City, and Blue City spent a larger portion of money on education than Parson City did. If this is the case, using the amount of money is instead of the proportion of it to evaluate their budgetary priority is not reasonable.

Also, the city-run public schools may be quite different in these two cities. Maybe in Parson City, the number of students enrolled in public school is five times more than that in Blue City. Then, the average money spent on each student from the government in Blue City is more than that of Parson City. On the other hand, is the money from the government the only financial source for these schools? It is highly probable that the majority of the fund for these schools come from a lot of donations of individual residents instead of the government. Then, maybe the fact that Parson City spent more money on education indicates a lack of interest in residents in education.

Besides, can money spent on education represent a focus on education? A lot of resources can’t be measured by money, such as the effort of the teachers. Using money to evaluate the city’s focus is problematic.

In conclusion, the letter should answer the above questions to make his argument more convincing.