The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president suggest that the company should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations to improve their employees' productivity. However, the claim is plagued by a number of skewed assumptions.

First, the vice president seems to assume that by identifying and punishing employees who use the Internet from the workstations, the company can reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities. Nonetheless, using the Internet from the workstations doesn’t necessarily mean doing personal activities. They may be dealing with some tasks that needs the Internet from the workstation. Since workstations typically have much more computing power than personal computers do, using workstations may be a good choice if the employees are given a task that requires a lot of computation. Also, perhaps a lot of the company’s data can only be accessed via workstations. If this is the case, then maybe the high usage of workstations may result from the high involvement of the employees with their work.

On the other hand, if the employees spent their time on personal or recreational activities, it is highly likely that they are using their own Wi-Fi instead of the Internet of the workstations. If such behaviors as shopping or playing games are not welcomed in the company, the employees will do these things in a clandestine way and not dare to use the workstations. Moreover, since a lot of people have bought their own Wi-Fi access, it is highly likely that they will use their own smartphones or laptops, which always connect to their personal Wi-Fi instead of the workstation’s.

Moreover, the vice president fails to consider what type of company Climpson Industries is. If it is a company that encourage creativity and innovation, like Apple and Amazon, then restricting what the employees should do may be detrimental to their abilities. In a lot of technological companies, employees have freedom to do almost anything they like as long as they can fulfill the tasks they are given to. In this companies, employees are like artists; they need unbridled freedom to foster creativity and innovation. While it seems that playing games or shopping may not be a good behavior, the employers may be coming up with some good ideas by searching for inspirations in recreational activities. Even if this is a traditional company, monitoring employees may cause them to feel that the company doesn’t trust them, which will lead to a low morale and trepidation. Thus, this act may not foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve the overall profits. It will probably harm the atmosphere of the whole company and lead to a downturn in the overall profits.

All in all, to make the argument more convincing, The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries should address the assumptions as above mentioned.