What are some of the characteristics of a good parent?

Use specific details and examples to explain your answer.

From infancy, people search for role models to emulate, and without a doubt, the most important role model in our lifetime is our parents. There is no perfect parent in the world, and no single criterion can gauge whether a person is a good one. However, in my opinion, discipline, love, and patience are the three most crucial characteristics of a good parent.

The primary job of parents is to breed the children until they grow up, hoping they can fit into society well. Without discipline, the children may behave unrulily. While parents may protect their children when the kids are young, they must teach their kids discipline. These disciplines include respect for others, social etiquette, and being polite. On the other hand, being the role model for children, parents should also lead a life of self-discipline. Children look upon their parents to learn how to behave appropriately. Therefore, parents must set standards not only for children but also for themselves.

Second, love is also indispensable. No love and all discipline will make the family seem like the military or a company. In a firm, there is strict discipline, and if employees disobey the law, they may get laid off. Nonetheless, in a family, if the child misconducts, will the parent lay the child off? Certainly no. Parents take care of the children not because they can bring profits but because they love their children. A qualified parent will do many for their children. Nevertheless, a loving parent will sacrifice a lot more.

Last but not least, good parents are patient parents. Everything takes time to develop, and children are no exception. Specifically, children are prone to making mistakes, again and again. It requires love and patience to care for the children. When I was young, my mother told stories to me when I was in bed. Although I couldn't remember what she had said the next day, my mother would not be annoyed. Instead, she would tell the same story again the next day. Not until she told a story more than a dozen times had I remembered it. To this day, I could still remember the stories, not just the plot but also the scenes of my mother speaking softly beside my bed.

No one can deny the importance of parenting in the development of children. I believe that discipline, love, and patience are the essential parts of a good parent. Hopefully, when I grow up, I can also be a good parent like my mother.