Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather

than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement that governments should focus on immediate problems rather than on future problems is too categorical. In my opinion, governments should solve the immediate problems first, and then solve the future problems. Both of them should be valued, just differing in their priorities.

In a democratic nation, governments are elected. They are appointed by the nationals to help them solve problems. People want the government to solve the immediate problems they encounter, such as a high crime rate, economic stagnation, etc. Therefore, if the government fails to solve these problems, they are not living up to the peoples’ anticipation and should step down due to their incapability to solve the peoples’ immediate needs.

However, some people may argue that if governments put too much attention on immediate, and probably minor, issues, they are unable to make policies that are good for the long-term welfare of its people. In reality, solving immediate problems first isn’t equivalent to ignoring long-term development. If a country can’t solve immediate issues, then it will likely be swamped in a lot of economic and social problems and is unable to develop a grand project that can solve the anticipated problems of the future. In Taiwan, there were voices of environmental protection decades ago. They objected to the construction of nuclear power plants, worrying that the nuclear waste these plants produced would have a detrimental effect on the environment. The government was aware of this issue. However, it still decided to build four nuclear power plants because there were 2.3 million people in Taiwan, and the power consumption each year was incredibly high. To solve the immediate issue of electricity shortage, the government had to postpone the construction of power plants that produce green energy. Now, technology has improved, and the problem of power shortage is alleviated, so the government is building some greener power plants using wind, sea, or the sun.

On the other hand, if a government only focuses on short-term problems that appeal to the immediate needs of its people. In the long term, more problems will arise. Take China, for example. After the second world war, China was plagued by poverty. The government decided to make more money, hoping this would solve the problem. On the contrary, this act led to inflation, and people got poorer. The money they got today might be worthless tomorrow. As soon as they got their wages, they ran to buy a lot of commodities. The whole country was not only more impoverished but also more restless. Finally, this brought about another war. The government changed, and the new government decided to boost the economy by a lot of long-term economic stimuli and policies. Thus, the problem was resolved.

Governments should solve the immediate problems first, and then solve the future problems. Both of them should be valued, just differing in their priorities.