The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement. "Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation endorsed by the author is that Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire due to several advantages. However, there are some crucial pieces of evidence required to be examined to evaluate the validity of the conclusion.

First of all, the author claimed that the housing costs in Clearview have fallen in significantly during the past year. However, the key issue is that whether the housing price there is affordable for reader. Perhaps housing prices were too high for people to pay, so housing prices there have fallen due to market mechanism. In addition, it was referred that taxes are lower than neighboring towns. But we still don’t know how much it cost. Therefore, without further information, the author fails to make the conclusion convincing.

Even though the housing cost is low at Clearview, the author cannot unfairly assumes that the number of physicians and health care in the area are positive related. Indeed, in most case, the more physicians there are, the more people living there can get good treatment. However, such unilateral standpoint toward the issue of health care of the area is too constricted. Maybe the reason why there are many physicians here is that the popularity here is so large so that people live in here need more doctors to serve them. In this case, the average health care people can get may be even less that other area.

Finally, the author assumes that the mayor will keep his promise and expected him to improve public service. To be precise, there are still a lot of reason for mayor to change his mind, such as the revenue this year, or some exigent events that need lots of money, etc. All of these may cause the program of public to cease. Hence, the promise that the mayor had made didn’t means that there will really be a lot of public affair program there.

In conclusion, several logical fallacies render the conclusion vulnerable to refutation. The author should consider other factors and provides more evidence to strength his or her argument.