It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I hold it true that, in most circumstances, it is better to adhere to one's own beliefs than to compromise them. However, if you are in a team and an amoral decision opposed to your faith has been made, you should compromise your beliefs to coordinate with others.

The world is very complicated, so everyone should have a ruler in his or her mind. If one does not have some beliefs to comply with, one is likely to be lost when a storm besets. If this is the case, you may hurt not only yourself but also the community you belong to, such as a company or a government.

Take Morris Chang, the founder of Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC), for example. Decades ago, he decided to double the amount of investment in more advanced technology. Many employees demurred at the decision, regarding it as a waste of resources due to the low return on investment of new technology. However, despite the difficulties, Morris Change was intransigent since he knew that the only way to stand out from the crowd in the competitive IC industry is by technological advantage. Several years later, his decision proved correct. TSMC outperformed Samsung, and until now, TSMC is still leading the world.

On the other hand, if the whole team makes a decision, it is more suitable to comply. United, the team is more likely to succeed. Otherwise, the team is more likely to fail. Every member of a team has the responsibility to comply with the policy they collectively set.

In a basketball team, the coach has the power to decide the strategy they should use. As a player, your responsibility is to comply with it. If you are still opposed to it, the performance of the team will surely decrease. Before the decision, it is suitable for the player to express concern about the decision. However, when the coach makes a decision, compromising one’s own belief is a better option.

Nonetheless, if the team one belongs to has decided against justice, one should stand out. In the Second World War, the Nazis have done a lot of egregious activities such as genocide. Being a governor, the responsibility for human beings as a whole is more important than the loyalty to the state. If most people had always had a conscience and refused to compromise their own beliefs, they could save many innocent lives.

In general, it is better to adhere to one’s own beliefs than compromising them. Nevertheless, if the team one belongs to has made a decision that is not at odds with justice, it is more suitable to compromise one's own beliefs to coordinate with others.