Some gifts we receive are particularly special to us. Why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Gifts are symbols of human bonds. Human relationship is invisible, but we can’t live without it. Therefore, we often utilize tangible objects to transfer our feelings. This is the meaning of gifts.

Throughout a person’s life, he or she will certainly receive many gifts. Nonetheless, some gifts may soon pass through our memory, leaving no traces behind. On the other hand, there are few gifts that will be etched in our memory. The value of this kind of gifts lie not at the price but the stories behind them. It is the stories behind the gifts that make them unique.

In my opinion, our lives are weaved through a series of stories. No matter their sizes, these stories will constitute our experiences and shape our memories. From this perspective, a gift is a story. These stories record the different aspects of lives. For example, a birthday a gift may remind me of a wonderful birthday party and the friendship with my best friend. Nonetheless, I believe that the most valuable gifts are gifts that remind us of the good old times, a time that is so wonderful that we will never forget but is eternally past that we can never live again.

My most memorable gift is a gift from my caring, loving, and always smiling grandmother. When I was in high school, my grandmother started to show the symptoms of Alzheimer’s disease. She forgot almost everything, but she always remembered my name. One day, she took a clay model out of her shelf, and she gave it to me with a huge smile. It was the last time I saw her smile. Years later, her health deteriorated, and she could hardly speak. During summer vacations, I would go and see her, and I couldn’t figure out if she still remembered me. I would hold her hands and look into her eyes, hoping to find traces of happiness and warmth, but there seemed to be none. I realized that Alzheimer’s disease had separated my loving grandmother from me ruthlessly. Nonetheless, when I take a look at the clay model, the image of my grandmother will appear, calling my name with smiles.

We all receive gifts, but the most special gifts are those that remind us of a wonderful time, just like the gift I received from my grandmother.