Some students prefer to study alone. Others prefer to study in a group. Which do you prefer?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the competitive environment of the school, studying requires considerable time and effort, and studying with my classmates can make me study more efficiently and less stressfully. Hence, I am fond of studying in a group.

First, I can discuss with my classmates when encountering academic difficulties. When studying math, sometimes I am confused by an equation. If I can’t figure out the meaning of it, I can’t understand the derivations that follows. Studying alone, I will be stuck in the troublesome situation. Conversely, studying in a group, I can seek help from my classmates, thus overcoming the obstacle. On the other hand, when my classmates encounter some problems, they will ask me, and we can discuss. The discussion can facilitate my understanding of the material in a way that I have never thought of before.

Second, when studying gets boring, we can encourage each other and keep going. Oftentimes, when I am preparing for the final exam, the studying process is tiring and laborious, leaving me depressed and even frustrated. In this situation of low mood, I can talk to my classmates. The conversation may not be directly related to the homework or the exam, but may be a video I recently watched or a joke I recently heard of. In sharing our interesting experiences, I can soothe my emotion, and continue to cross the seemingly insurmountable challenges ahead. Therefore, studying in a group can boost my morale.

However, while I benefit a lot from studying in a group, choosing the suitable people to study with is of great importance. If I study with the wrong people, then I can not discuss with them, or worse still, they may affect my efficiency of studying. If the people around me are chatting all the time, then I can’t focus on my study. On the other hand, if we are studying different subjects, then we can’t have a discussion with each other. Therefore, when I am preparing for an upcoming exam, I often choose the classmates in the same class. In this way, we can reap the benefits of collective studying better.

To summarize, I prefer studying in a group to studying alone since we can discuss with each other and encourage each other. Nonetheless, when studying in a group, choosing the right people is important.