It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I hold it true that in most circumstances, it is better to adhere to one’s own beliefs than compromising them. However, if you are in a team and a decision that is not related to morals and is opposed to your beliefs has been made, then it is better for you to compromise your own beliefs to coordinate with others.

The world is very complicated and everyone should have a ruler in his or her mind. If one does not have some beliefs to comply with, it is likely that he or she will be missed when a storm besets. If this is the case, you may not only hurt yourself but also the community you belong to, such as a company or a government.

Take Morris Chang, the founder of Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC), for example. Decades ago, he decided to double the amount of investment in more advanced technology. He was met with a lot of opposition since TSMC had already gained a position in the IC industry and the investment was seen as a waste of resource due to the low payoff caused by the uncertainty of new technology. However, despite the difficulties, Morris Change was intransigent since he clearly knowed that in the competitive field of the IC industry, the only way to win is by the ascendancy of technology. Several year later, his decision proved correct. TSMC outperformed Samsung and until now, TSMC is still leading the world.

On the other hand, if you are in a team, and a decision has been made, it is more suitable for you to comply with it. United, the plan is more likely to succeed. Divided, the plan is more likely to fail. Every member of a team has the responsibility to comply with the policy they set.

In a basketball team, the coach has the power to decide the strategy they should use. Being a player, your responsibility is to comply with it. If you are still opposed to it, the performance of the team will surely decrease. Before the decision is made, it is suitable for the player to express the concern about the decision. However, when a decision is made, compromising one’s own belief is a better option.

Nonetheless, when you are in a community and the decision at variance with justice has been made, you should stand out. In the second world war, Nazi has done a lot of egregious activities such as genocide. Being a governor, the responsibility for human being as a whole is more important than the loyalty to the state. If most people had always had conscience and refused to comprise their own beliefs, it would be likely that lots of innocent lives could be saved.

In general, it is better to adhere to one’s own beliefs than compromising them. Nevertheless, if you are in a team and a decision that is at odds with justice has been made, it is more suitable for you to compromise your own beliefs to coordinate with others.