The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of a television station suggested that the company should put more time into weather and local news instead of national news to increase advertising revenues. To make the argument more convincing, the manager needs to verify a lot of points they are taking for granted.

First, we need to consider the quality of the complaints. How many complaints did the company get? If there are just five complaints, then can these complaints represent the whole population? Maybe the viewers that made complaints complained about everything, not only the station’s coverage of weather and local news but also about the national news. The manager should provide more details about the complaints. If the complaints are not reasonable, then the manager can ignore them. If they are reasonable, maybe the problems lie not in the weather and local news, but in all the TV programs they provide. If this is the case, the manager should think about what may be wrong with their whole strategy.

Furthermore, even if there were a lot of complaints about the weather and local news, what were they about? They may not be concerned with the time coverage of these programs, but with their quality. Then the company needs to increase the quality of these programs instead of devoting more time to the ones the viewers dislike.

The manager seems to suggest that the decrease in advertising is related to the shorter time of weather and local news. Maybe the problem is not related to the program at all. It is highly probable that there are other reasons to account for the decrease in advertising. Perhaps there is a downturn in the advertising industry, and they need to cut the money spent on everything, not just advertising. It is also likely that the viewers may turn to youtube or other Internet websites rather than watching TV. Hence, the advertising companies are turning their focus on the more modernistic way of gaining information. Or, more people tend to watch TV at a different time, thus decreasing the willingness of advertising companies to invest money in the late-night news program.

Also, the manager doesn’t mention the reason why they have devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. Maybe they are changing gears, and it may take a long time for their strategy to turn into profits. Referring to just some complaints and statistics is not enough to account for the failure of their change.

The manager needs to consider the above questions to make his argument more convincing.