The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of a television station argued that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news due to the increased complaints about them. However, a few pieces of evidenc need to be established before this choice can be made.

First, the contents of the complaints should be given when the manger mentioned that when weather and local news took up less time, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. Did the viewers complain about the shortened time of weather and local news? Maybe the viewers wanted to have even less time to weather and local news instead of increased time. Or, maybe they didn't mention the time of the programs at all. It was the quility of the news not the duration of the news that bothered them. Maybe a famous anchor has been replaced by a new one, and most viewers are not satisfied with the new anchor's style. If this is the case, maybe more time is needed for the viewers to become used to the new anchor. Or, the manager should consider making more high-quality news content rather than increase the time of low-quality programs. Moreover, were the complaints reliable? If there were only one or two complaints, relying on the data as evidence for the general viewers' opinions was problematic. When citing the complaints, more details should be given to evaluate the value of them.

On the other hand, it was problematic to use the fact that local businesses that used to advertise have just canceled their advertising contracts as an indication of a need for more weather and local news. Maybe this is not related to the quality or the duration of the programs. The price of advertising has recently increased, so many companies are unwilling to pay the high price to advertise their products. If this is the case, the manager should consider lowering the advertising price to attract more advertising customers. On the other hand, maybe there is a general downturn in the local industry. Therefore, the local businesses need to cut down on some expenses and among them, the advertising cost is the first one to be reduced. If this is the case, the cancellation of advertising is not related to the news program at all. When the economy is getting better, the advertising will come back. Or maybe less people are watching TV nowadays. No matter what the program is, the number of viewers is drastically decreasing. Hence, this is not the station's policy to blame for but the entire trend that leads to the standstill of television advertising.

To make the argument more convincing, the manager needs to consider the specific evidence as above mentioned.