Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Rich people who do not work will be happy.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, rich people not working won’t be happy. Not being rich, I can’t fathom the life style and mindset of a millionaire. Nonetheless, from my personal experience, being rich is not tantamount to being happy.

First, true happiness stems from self-actualization, and working is arguably the most profound way toward achieving this. In Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, self-actualization is situated at the top of the pyramid. While other needs, such as food and security, may be achieved by wealth, the highest need requires a commitment through working. Working is way of making full use of our inner potential, and by working, we can chase after our dream of a lifetime. We are giving through working, and by working, we feel that we are needed and thus a sense of achievement arises, making us feel happy. Conversely, if we are not working, we are receiving. Though we can receive a cornucopia of food and comfort with considerable wealth, our heart will be drowned by emptiness.

Second, the process of chasing after a dream, not the result of achieving a goal, is the source of fulfillment. If we lead an affluent life, it is likely that we already have everything we want. On the surface, we have nothing to worry about. However, human desire is infinite. When we have a lot, we want more, and what we have is always not enough to fulfill our appetite. On the contrary, if we have few possessions at hand, we will feel gratified if we make a little progress toward our dream through working. Thus, we will be proud of ourselves by what we have done every day and thus lead a fulfilling life.

In sum, while being rich can satisfy some biological needs of a human, it is through working that gives us a sense of fulfillment and happiness.