Some high school teachers (teachers of students aged 14-18) spend most of their class time lecturing (speaking) while their students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of their class time on discussion and projects that require students to participate by sharing their ideas with the class. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

Spending time with students at high schools in a correct way is the best feature of each teacher. From my point of view, teachers should encourage students to provide some contents that are related to their opinion. I will explore the reasons why I feel this way in the following essay.

To begin with, using students' ideas can be extremely beneficial to lessen the students' false opinions. When students share their conceptions during class time, teachers can find that their ideas are true or not, and if their opinion is incorrect, teachers can solve the problem by giving some tips. In addition, these tips prevent other students' minds in order to make a mistake about upcoming lessons. Consequently, all of the students in a class will have had an incredible mentality, and errors will be disappeared. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Five years ago, during my high school years, I had an opinion about using a formula in one of my lessons, mathematic, and it had come from my past semester. However, at that time, I thought that my knowledge about that formula was true, and I used it a lot. When I went to the next semester, the teaching manner of our new teacher was fantastic. Additionally, he started to ask our opinion, and we shared our ideas about everything that was related to our mathematic lesson. My teacher realized that my opinion about that formula was wrong. Therefore, he fixed my error by showing some tips, and my corrected conception was the result of participating and sharing my ideas in class.

Furthermore, participation in discussion at high schools can strengthen the students' confidence. We must consider that when students have a chance to share their ideas with other students or the teacher during class time, it will be exceedingly effective for improving their confidence. For instance, I have a sister; although she was talented, she had no confidence because she was not sociable. My parents thought that her high school's low quality was the reason of her behavior. Anyway, my parents decided to change my sister's high school. She started her first semester at a new school. The methods of teaching in that new school were unprecedented because all of the teachers in that school had communication with students, and students should have shown their opinion for each lesson. After a year, we found that she was in a new way of her incredible life. Nevertheless, she joined her friend's groups, improvised lots of presentations for her classes, and most of the time had communication with her teachers. As a result, enhancing her confidence was the cause of a superb method of teaching at school.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that high school teachers should use the students' ideas and allow them to share their opinion. This is because students can find that their conceptions are in the best way or not, and because they can acquire confidence during the participation in a class.