some job can pay high salaries but require employees to leave their family and friends. some jobs pay few salaries but allow employees to stay with family and friends. which job do you prefer? why?

Money or family, that’s one of the oldest conflicts people have faced. If there’s an opportunity that I can either have a high paycheck but being send away from my family and friends, or have stable family relationships but little income, I would choose the former.

First, high paycheck normally means you can bring more value to the company or the society in general. And fulfilling the need of others or a bigger group seems more important than my own comfort and convenience. Take the job positions in United Nations as an example, they require most of the UN employees are capable of being sent overseas, especially to the developing countries where war, riot, poverty and pollution are common. Because they can go to the place that other people are not willing to go and are able to solve complex problems there, the high salary comes along as a compensation for their hard work and strong will. For this purpose, my happiness of being together with my family and friends can come secondary.

Secondly, even though I’m not going to do the humanity-saving type of work, it still makes little sense for me to assume that only my choice would influence the result because to keep up a relationship requires efforts from both sides. The false assumption underlying this hypothetical situation is my friend or family would never consider leaving our hometown. However, with modern time’s mobility, friends may relocate for their spouse, promotions, career change, education for their children and all kinds of reasons you can think of; parents may also move for better health care, air quality, natural environment to enjoy their retirement. So, what’s the point of staying in the same old town counting my thin paycheck if, for some reasons, they all left me?

I love my family and friends. They saw my vulnerable time and have always been supportive for me. If it’s possible I wish I don’t need to face this dilemma ever and could always have them around. However, future fills with uncertainty. Luckily, with today’s 4G technology, we can easily see each other’s face and feel each other’s present through video chat. That probably also helps on making the choice less distressful.